HARARE – A panel of experts that included selected journalists, coaches and captains on Thursday named the country’s 11 Castle Lager Premier Soccer League Soccer Stars of the Year – and for the first time as far as memory can remember, Dynamos failed to contribute a player.

Champions FC Platinum dominated the list with three players, while league runners up Ngezi Platinum and Chibuku Super Cup winners Triangle weighed in with two each.

In a year of ignominy, Highlanders and CAPS United were a touch fortunate to be represented, the two limping giants contributing shot stopper Ariel Sibanda and Joel Ngodzo respectively.

The stand-out player and his two runners-up as well as the Coach of the Year will be revealed at a banquet in Harare on December 7.

After a season of total dominance by FC Platinum, it was no surprise that they would boss the individual accolades as midfielder Farai Madhananga, defender Kelvin Moyo and striker Rodwell Chinyengetere will in the team of the year.

Chinyengetere, who top scored with 17 goals, will be the red-hot favourite to be crowned Soccer Star of the Year while his coach Norman Mapeza is destined to win the coach accolade.

Ngezi Platinum, who flattered to deceive for most of the season before settling for second, were rewarded for their endeavour with Godknows Murwira and Michael Charamba both recognised.

Phineas Bhamusi and Nhamo Lameck of Triangle got noticed by the selectors after their fairy-tale cup success.

ZPC Kariba’s David Temwanjira and Innocent Mucheneka of Chicken Inn completed the list.

Soccer Star of the Year Finalists

Ariel Sibanda (Highlanders), David Temwanjira (ZPC Kariba), Farai Madhananga (FC Platinum), Godknows Murwira (Ngezi Platinum), Innocent Mucheneka (Chicken Inn), Joel Ngodzo (CAPS Utd), Kelvin Moyo (FC Platinum), Michael Charamba (Ngezi Platinum), Nhamo Lameck (Triangle), Phineas Bamusi (Triangle), Rodwell Chinyengetere (FC Platinum)